Category Archives: Announcements

UPSE PDE Alumni Association and Ruperto P. Alonzo Memorial Lecture Series Launch

abstract 20230208 Hernandez_v2

Onsite Registration Zoom Registration

A Roundtable Discussion on Streamlining Trade Regulations

Pelkmans (780 × 1400 px)

Onsite Registration Zoom Registration

BSP-UPSE Distinguished Lecture Series: The Global Dollar Cycle

Obstfled (FB 1200 × 630 px)_v3

Onsite Registration Zoom Registration

UPSE-PCED Seminar – 23 Nov 2022


Onsite Registration Zoom Registration

UPSE-PCED Lecture Series – 8 Nov 2022

upse lecture series 20221108_post_v2

Onsite Registration Zoom Registration

End Poverty Day 2022: World Bank – UP School of Economics – ADMU Department of Economics Webinar

abstract 20221019 Hssine
Click here to register.

UPSE ADVISORY: Non-Entrance to the SE Library and Encarnacion Hall for the BAR Examination on 3-7, February 2022

The School of Economics is one of the testing center in UP Diliman Campus for the BAR 2020/21 Examinations on February 4 (Friday) and 6 (Sunday), 2022.

In view of this, please be informed that ONLY authorized BAR Personnel, volunteers and examinees will be allowed to enter the building premises (SE Library and Encarnacion Hall) on February 3-7, 2022. Other dates included are allotted for the sanitation/disinfection of the testing venue prior to and after the use. Access to the other parts of the buildings such as offices, faculty rooms, parking areas will also be prohibited.

BSP-UP Professorial Chair Lecture: How Has the COVID19 Crisis Elevated Risks in the Philippines?

BSP-UP Professorial Chair Lecture by Dr. Renato E. Reside Jr. on Thursday, November 18, 2021, 3:00 PM via Zoom about “How Has the COVID19 Crisis Elevated Risks in the Philippines?”

Register in advance for this webinar:

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

abstract 20211118 Reside

Habemus Decanum!


Dean Ma. Joy V. Abrenica is a sterling product of the School’s own doctoral program, which she attended after graduating Magna cum laude from De la Salle University with bachelor’s degrees (BS Economics and BS Commerce, major in accounting) and placing 6th in the CPA exam of 1987.

She is both a well-loved teacher and mentor to many generations of students, and a renowned scholar with diverse areas of expertise including international economics, the economics of technological change, competition policy, and industrial organization.

In recognition of her outstanding scholarship from early on, she was named Outstanding Young Scientist by the National Academy of Science and Technology in 2004.

She has contributed her expertise beyond the academe and made seminal contributions to legislation leading to the Philippine Competition Act of 2015, the Customs Modernization and Tariff Act of 2016, and the drafting of the DTI’s Export Development Plan. She was also designated amicus curiae by the Supreme Court in January 2014 in cases involving electricity prices.

Dean Abrenica has extensive administrative experience within UPSE and within the larger University itself.

For the past six years, she has served as Department Chair, immediately prior to her appointment as Dean. She has also served as Director for Finance and as Director for Graduate Admissions and Fellowships at UPSE.

At UPD, she is a member of the Curriculum Committee, the Committee on Faculty Development, Conduct, and Welfare and is Chair of the Management and Economics Cluster of UPD General Education Committee.

At the System level, she is a member of the evaluation and monitoring committee of the Emerging Interdisciplinary Research Program under the UP Vice President for Academic Affairs.

In her vision statement, Dean Joy identifies four main strategic thrusts for SE: reaffirming SE’s commitment to academic excellence, revitalizing public service, harnessing internal resources, and building trust.

Her character and experience make us confident that she understands the challenges that lie ahead for the College, and that she can inspire us and muster our cooperation to deliver the kind of leadership required of the Dean of the School of Economics in the years ahead.

UPSE mourns passing of former President Ninoy Aquino