Forum on Philippine Legal Compliance to the 2015 ASEAN Economic Community


(This forum is open to the public and is free of charge. For more info, contact Mr. Carlo Go at +63 927-5269847,  Ms Mila Baetiong & Brigitte Encarnacion at 920-5514 loc. 207, or Ms Au Tolentino at 929-3654).


Morning Session
8:00 – 8:30 Registration
8:30 – 8:45 Welcome Remarks
Prof. Danilo L. Concepcion
Dean, UP College of Law
8:45 – 9:00 Opening Remarks
Hon. Adrian S. Cristobal, Jr.
Undersecretary, DTI
9:00 – 9:15 Forum Orientation
Dr. Ramon L. Clarete
Dean, UP School of Economics
9:15 – 9:30 Overview on the Legal Audit
Atty. Celeste Cembrano-Mallari
UP Institute of International Legal Studies
9:30 -10:00 AEC Compliance Thru Pacta Sunt Servanda
Prof. H. Harry L. Roque, Jr.
UP Institute of International Legal Studies
10:00 – 10:30 AEC Integration thru Philippine Administrative Compliance
Prof. Diane A. Desierto
Asst. Professor, University of Hawaii William S. Richardson School of Law, and Co-Director, ASEAN Law & Integration Center (ALIC)
10:30 – 10:45 Coffee Break
10:45 – 11:15 Reactors
Dr. Raul C. Pangalangan
Professor of Law and Former Dean
UP College of Law
Dean Sedfrey M. Candelaria
Ateneo Law School
11:15 – 11:30 Open Forum
11:30 – 1:00 pm Lunch Break
Afternoon Session
1:00 -1:30 Investments
Amb. Manuel Antonio J. Teehankee
Former Philippine Permanent Representative to the WTO
1:30 – 2:00 Trade in Services and the Overseas Filipino Workers (OFWs)
Executive Director Jose Victor V. Chan-Gonzaga
Department of Foreign Affairs, and Former Charge’-de’Affaires, Philippine Permanent Mission to the WTO
2:00 – 2:30 Cross-border Legal Challenges
Atty. Vicente M. Joyas
President, Integrated Bar of the Philippines
2:30 – 3:00 Coffee Break
3:00 – 3:30 Reactors
Atty Andre C. Palacios
General Counsel and Corporate Secretary
Millenmium Challenge Account-PhilippinesDean Ramon L. Clarete
UP School of Economics

Prof. Diane A. Desierto

3:30 – 4:00 Synthesis
Amb. Manuel Antonio J. Teehankee
4:00 – 4:30 Closing Remarks
Prof. H. Harry L. Roque, Jr.
Atty. Maricel Seno
Moderator and Master of Ceremonies