Faculty

(as of 1st Semester, AY 2020-2021)

Regular Faculty

Ma. Joy V. Abrenica, Ph.D. (University of the Philippines)
Professor
Industrial Organization, International Economics, Mathematical Economics, Microeconomics
Email: mvabrenica@up.edu.ph; ma_joy.abrenica@upd.edu.ph; ma.joyabrenica@yahoo.com

Agustin L. Arcenas, Ph.D. (Michigan State University) (sabbatical)
Associate Professor
Development Economics, Environmental Economics, Impact Evaluation/Project Evaluation, Microeconomics, Natural Resource Economics
Email: alarcenas@upd.edu.ph or arcenasa@yahoo.com

Maria Socorro G. Bautista, Ph.D. (Columbia University)
Professor
Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics, International Economics
Email: msgb@up.edu.ph, msgbautista@econ.upd.edu.ph

Joseph J. Capuno, Ph.D. (University of the Philippines)
Professor
Public Economics, Development Economics, Institutional Economics, Health Economics
Email: jjcapuno@up.edu.ph, jjcapuno@gmail.com

Sarah Lynne S. Daway-Ducanes, Ph.D. (University of California Riverside)
Associate Professor
Financial Economics, Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics
Email: ssdaway@econ.upd.edu.ph

Ma. Christina Epetia, Ph.D. (University of the Philippines)
Assistant Professor
International Economics, Labor Economics, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics
Email: mfepetia@econ.upd.edu.ph

Laarni C. Escresa, Ph.D. (University of Bologna and University Rotterdam)
Assistant Professor
Law & Economics,  Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, History of Economic Thought
Email: laarni.escresa2@gmail.com

Margarita D. Gonzales, Ph.D. (University of the Philippines)
Associate Professor
Development Economics, Financial Economics, International Economics, Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics
Email: mdgonzales@econ.upd.edu.ph

Karl Robert L. Jandoc, Ph.D. (University of Hawaii at Manoa)
Assistant Professor
Environmental Economics, Microeconomics. Statistics/Econometrics
Email: kljandoc@up.edu.ph

Aleli D. Kraft, Ph.D. (University of the Philippines)
Professor
Development Economics, Health Economics, Human Resource Economics, Industrial Economics, Microeconomics
Email: aleli.kraft@upd.edu.ph

Cielo D. Magno, Ph.D. (Northeastern University)
Assistant Professor
Development Economics,  Environmental Economics, Human Resource Economics, Institutional Economics, Microeconomics, Public Economics
Email: cmagno@econ.upd.edu.ph

Maria Nimfa F. Mendoza, Ph.D. (University of British Columbia)
Associate Professor
International Economics, Econometrics, Microeconomics, Mathematical Economics
Email: ma_nimfa.mendoza@upd.edu.ph

Toby Melissa C. Monsod, Ph.D. (University of the Philippines)
Professor
Development Economics, Environmental Economics, Gender Economics, History of Thought, Institutional Economics, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Public Economics, Urban and Regional Economics
Email: tcmonsod@econ.upd.edu.ph or tcmonsod@upd.edu.ph, tobymonsod2002@yahoo.com

Marjorie C. Pajaron, Ph.D. (University of Hawaii)
Assistant Professor
Applied Microeconometrics, Health Economics, Development Economics
Email: mcpajaron@up.edu.ph

Renato E. Reside Jr., Ph.D. (Fordham University)
Associate Professor
Financial Economics, History of Thought, Industrial Economics, International Economics, Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics, Public Economics
Email: renato_jr.reside@upd.edu.ph

Orville Jose C. Solon, Ph.D. (University of the Philippines)
Professor & Dean
Health Economics, Microeconomics, Public Economics
Email: ocsolon@up.edu.ph; jose_orville.solon@upd.edu.ph

Professors Emeriti

Florian A. Alburo, Ph.D. (University of Colorado)
Agricultural Economics, International Economics, Monetary Economics
Email: florian.alburo@upd.edu.ph

Solita Collas-Monsod, M.A. (University of Pennsylvania)
Development Economics, Poverty and Income
Email: solita_monsod@yahoo.com

Dante B. Canlas, Ph.D. (University of the Philippines)
Economics, Industrial Economics, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Monetary Economics
Email: dbcanlas@ymail.com; dbcanlas@pldtdsl.net

Rolando A. Danao, Ph.D. (University of California, Berkeley)
Mathematical Economics, Statistics/Econometrics, Energy Economics, Development Economics, Financial Economics, Human Resource
Email: rolando.danao@upd.edu.ph

Emmanuel S. de Dios, Ph.D. (University of the Philippines)
Development Economics, History of Economic Thought, Institutional Economics, International Economics, Microeconomics, Economic History
Email: esdedios@up.edu.ph; esdedios@upd.edu.ph; esdedios@econ.upd.edu.ph

Benjamin E. Diokno, Ph.D. (Syracuse University)
Public Economics, Political Economy
Email: benjamin.diokno@upd.edu.ph

Raul V. Fabella, Ph.D. (Yale University)
Development Economics, Institutional Economics, International Economics, Microeconomics, Public Economics
Email: raul.fabella@upd.edu.ph

Ernesto M. Pernia, Ph.D. (University of California, Berkeley)
Development Economics, Demographic Economics, Human Resource Economics
Email: ernestompernia@gmail.com or ernesto.pernia@upd.edu.ph

Gerardo P. Sicat, Ph.D. (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Development Economics
Email: gerardo.sicat@upd.edu.ph or gsicat@skybroadband.com.ph

Edita A. Tan, Ph.D. (University of California, Berkeley)
Human Resource Economics, Monetary Economics
Email: edita.tan@upd.edu.ph

Gwendolyn R. Tecson, Ph.D. (Hitotsubashi)
Industrial Economics, International Economics, Area of Specialization: Japan
Email: gwendolyn.tecson@up.edu.ph

Professorial Lecturers

Luzeta Adorna
Email: adornalc@gmail.com

Emmanuel F. Esguerra, Ph.D. (Ohio State University)
Labor Economics, Public Economics, Development Economics
Email: esguerra@up.edu.ph

Senior Lecturers

Michael Abrigo
Email: mmabrigo@gmail.com

Hayde Arandia
Email: hayde.arandia@yahoo.com

Marife Lou Bacate
Email: mlbacate@gmail.com

Patricia T. Coseteng
Accounting
Email: patricia.coseteng@gmail.com

Noel B. Del Castillo
Microeconomics
Email: nbdelcastillo@gmail.com

Alice Lee
Email: aliceatienzalee@gmail.com

Alloysius Paril
Email: alloy.paril@gmail.com

Victoria V. Quimbo
Email: vquimbo2002@yahoo.com

Gerard Suanes
Email: poposuanes@yahoo.com

Elizabeth Tan
Email: estan386@yahoo.com

Lecturers

Earla Kahlila M.C. Langit
Email: earlalangit@gmail.com

In Memoriam

Jose Encarnacion, Jr.
Nov 17, 1928 – July 5, 1998

Onofre D. Corpuz
Dec 1, 1926 – March 23, 2013

Fidelina B. Carlos
April 24, 1958 – May 16, 2015

Cayetano W. Paderanga
October 9, 1948 – January 29, 2016

Amado A. Castro
May 29, 1924 – June 10, 2017

Ruperto P. Alonzo
February 8, 1948 – November 7, 2017